AMI Montessori 0-3 Orientation Certificate

Course Description

The Association Montessori Internationale Assistants to Infancy Course is intended as an introduction to the philosophy and practice of the Montessori approach for the child under the age of three. This course is helpful for administrators, classroom assistants, nannies, doulas, carers and childcare professionals and anyone interested in human development in the critical first years of life. It is an invaluable insight into the child for parents, parents-to-be and grandparents. It is an ideal foundation for those who may be interested in taking the AMI Assistants to Infancy training (studying pregnancy, birth and the child until the age of three).

Course content includes reading and discussion on Montessori pedagogy such as freedom and self-discipline, the importance of the prepared environment, the role of the adult and order. Toileting, movement and language are also studied as they contribute to a child’s independent development.

 

Award

AMI Montessori 0-3 Orientation Certificate

 

Qualification Authorising Body

Association Montessori Internationale

The Certificate is awarded by the Association Montessori Internationale and does not form part of the Australian Qualifications Framework.

AMI is considered the worldwide leader in Montessori education. Its certified training is acknowledged for its rigour and the Certificate is internationally recognised.

The Certificate does not automatically qualify the holder to work as an Early Childhood Educator or Assistant. The State or Country in which the Certificate holder wishes to work may have other requirements that must be fulfilled.

 

Trainer

  • Sara Brady

 

Delivery Mode

The course components include live online lectures, reading and discussion and practical activities for a total of 60 hours. There are nine additional hours of observation, and students must submit an observation report, three short papers and handmade materials during the course. This online components of this course will be delivered via Zoom. 
 

Course Schedules

February
February – March 2022
Part-time Online
Tuesday 22 February 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 24 February 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 1 March 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 3 March 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 8 March 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 10 March 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 22 March 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 24 March 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 29 March 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 31 March 6:30 – 8:45pm
  • Times are AEST.

 


September 2022
September – October 2022
Part-time Online
Tuesday 6 September 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 8 September 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 13 September 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 15 September 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 20 September 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 22 September 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 11 October 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 13 October 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 18 October 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 20 October 6:30 – 8:45pm
Tuesday 25 October 6:30 – 8:45pm
Thursday 27 October 6:30 – 8:45pm
  • Times are AEST.

 

 

How to apply

  • No prerequisites for applicants who wish to enrol into the AMI 0-3 Orientation Certificate course
  • Applicants will be able to submit their interest by completing the SMTC Certificate Application Form
  • Submit the completed and signed application form to [email protected]

 

Course Fees

$1,300 (Excluding materials and books)

 

Required Reading

  • Understanding the Human Being
  • The Child in the Family
  • Education for a New World
  • The Absorbent Mind

Course outline and completion requirements